• August


  • 4
  • 0
The types of clay bricks used in residential and commercial constructions

The types of clay bricks used in residential and commercial constructions

Bricks are building blocks of a residential or commercial structure. These structural units contain a rectangular size. The bricks are used as a substitute to replace the stone. There are many kinds of bricks used in constructions nowadays. The diversified kinds of bricks available in the market that might confuse you while deciding what type of it would be suitable for your structure under construction. According to Construction Companies in Himachal , the stone is used, in abundance, instead of bricks. All models of buildings in the USA refer American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) standards for bricks while Canadian Standards Association (CSA) has also prepared codes for fired Masonry Bricks made from clay or shale.

On the basis of quality, bricks are of the following types:

First Class Brick: These bricks are red in color and well burnt. It is the highest quality brick free from all defects. It has a standard size of 19x9x 9 cm. The clay which used to make it must be free from all saline deposit. These bricks have sharp edges. These bricks, when struck together, give a sharp metallic sound. It doesn’t have pebbles, gravels or other organic material. These bricks are expensive and used for face work of big structures. It has over140 Kg/cm² compressive strength.

Second Class Bricks: These bricks are not well burnt. These are yellow/orange in color. It has regular shape but lowers in qualities. It is suitable for making single storied buildings and temporary shed where its intended durability is not more than 15 years. It must have over 70 Kg/cm². It emits a dull or blunt sound when struck by another similar brick or a hammer.

Sangal-Constructions-blog-21-a-Three kinds-of-Bricks-India

Third Class Bricks: These third class bricks have not regular in size. The color of it may be dark red or blue/gray. They are over burnt and due to excessive heat exposure, its shape turns out to be irregular. It may be twisted in shape. Its minimum crushing strength is over 150kg/cm². It sounds like the first class bricks. These over burnt bricks are used in foundations of structures or as aggregates in concrete.


Indian Standard of bricks: According to IS 1077-1976 common burnt clay bricks are categorized on the basis of its compressive power. The Construction Companies Himachal Pradesh has also revealed that each category of the clay based brick is further classified into two sub-categories A and B while considering its tolerance and shapes. The bricks placed under category A have smooth faces, sharp corners, and proper uniformity in color while the B section of the bricks includes lower qualities in strength and shape.


You comment will be published within 24 hours.

Cancel reply


Use our form to estimate the initial cost of renovation or installation.

Latest Posts
Most Viewed
Text Widget

Here is a text widget settings ipsum lore tora dolor sit amet velum. Maecenas est velum, gravida Vehicula Dolor

© Copyright 2017 Sangal Construction by VismaadLabs